Superbowl Champion Veggie Chili

This is not *my* veggie chili. But it bears a striking resemblance to it.

By this time, you have no doubt heard that the New Orleans Saints won the Superbowl (which, as my friend Nick points out, is like the Grey Cup, but with 4 downs and no “rouges”).  As a Louisiana native, I am extremely pleased with this development.  I vividly recall the days of bag-headed fans venturing into the Superdome to watch the “Aint’s,” and not getting to see home games on television because the failure to sell enough tickets meant a TV blackout within a 100 mile radius.  So, I really never expected this day to come, but I am pretty stoked that it finally did.

To celebrate the Saints’ competition in this, the most glorious of sporting events, I made Veggie Chili, which, as far as I’m concerned anyway, rose to the occasion.  The recipe is an adaptation of Emeril Lagasse’s Texas-style chili (which is definitely not vegetarian), and is both hearty and complex.  Here’s how it goes.

Begin by sauteing the following in a big pot with canola oil:

  • 1 large vidalia onion, diced
  • 1-2 jalapenos, chopped
  • 1 chopped carrot
  • 1 red or yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 4 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced

After these have cooked for a couple of minutes, add:

  • 1 Tbsp. cumin
  • 2 tsp. oregano
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • black pepper
  • 28 oz can of diced tomatoes

When this is fragrant, add:

  • 1 bottle of dark beer (we used a dark Belgian that we had on hand, but I’ve also used Guinness with pretty good results)
  • 4 chipotle chilis in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

Bring this to a boil, and taste it.  If your beer is on the bitter side, you may want to add about a tsp of sugar or honey.  Then, add 1.5 cups of dry, green lentils (make sure that you have washed and picked these over to get rid of any dirt or stones).  Boil for about 10 minutes, then reduce head to med-low and cook, covered, for 1 hour (or until the lentils are tender, but not mushy).  When the lentils have almost finished cooking, add a can of cooked kidney beans, and allow to simmer for another 15 minutes.

We served the chili with cheddar and chive scones, like these (made by Josh, of course),

plus a dollop of sour cream.  I don’t mind telling you that I think this chili is fantastic.  It’s satisfyingly spicy without being too much, and the flavor is big and bold without being one-note.  I also really, really like what the lentils do for the texture.  I’ve previously made this dish with TVP instead, and I think the ever-so-slight al dente character of the lentils is worlds better than the texture of TVP, which can get pretty mushy in soup.  It’s also a fun contrast with all of the other veggies, as well as the kidney beans.

By the end of the night, there were exactly zero servings of chili left–this recipe makes anywhere from 8-12, depending on how much other game-grub you have on hand–so I have a feeling that my chili-feelings here are deserved.    And, thankfully (finally!), so are my feelings for the Saints.

3 Responses to “Superbowl Champion Veggie Chili”


  1. 1 Cori February 15, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Mmmm!!!! Sounds delicious!!! I might add browned turkey. I’m giving this recipe to Dan.

  2. 2 Erin February 15, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Good idea! You could even brown it all in the same pot, if you added the turkey in the beginning w/ the first round of veggies. (Disregard if this is crazy, since I am less than knowledgeable in the ways of meat-cooking.)

  3. 3 Erin February 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    Ooh, I just realized that I forgot to mention “Worcestershire Sauce,” since I added it to the original recipe. Editing accordingly!


Leave a comment




February 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories